STB Faculty

Below is a list of current faculty members associated with the interdepartmental Graduate Program in Seed Technology and Business. We are an interdepartmental program which boasts faculty from 2 colleges and 11 departments at ISU. Use this list to gain an understanding of who is teaching our curriculum and areas of research interest when determining your Major Professor and Graduate Committee.

Faculty

Faculty Member Course Email

David Acker
International Agriculture

Dept: Global Agriculture Programs

  dacker@iastate.edu

Sanjeev Agarwal
Marketing

Dept: Marketing

  sagarwal@iastate.edu

Rajeev Arora
Horticulture & Physiology

Dept: Horticulture

STB 543-Seed Physiology rarora@iastate.edu

Carl Bern
Grain Preservation

Dept: Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering

  cjbern@iastate.edu
David Binder
International Business
BUSAD 509-Seed Trade, Policies, & Regulation dbinder@iastate.edu

Ed Braun
Plant Pathology

Dept: Plant Pathology and Microbiology

  ebraun@iastate.edu

Keri Carstens
Entomology

Dept: Entomology

  keri.carstens@pioneer.com

Haozhe Chen
Supply Chain & Logistics

Dept: Supply Chain & Information Systems

BUSAD 504-Marketing & Logistics hzchen@iastate.edu

Anne Clem
Accounting

Dept: Accounting

  aclem@iastate.edu

Michael Crum
Supply Chain Mgmt

Dept: Economic Development & Industry Relations
Dept: Supply Chain & Information Systems

  mcrum@iastate.edu

Christopher Currey
Horticulture

Dept: Horticulture

  ccurrey@iastate.edu

Fredrick Dark
Finance

Dept: Accounting & Finance

  dark@iastate.edu
David Dornbos
Crop Production & Physiology
STB 534-Seed & Variety, Testing & Technology
STB 547-Seed Production
dld9@calvin.edu

Aaron Gassmann 
Entomology

Dept: Entomology

  aaronjg@iastate.edu

Mark Gleason
Fruit & Vegetable Diseases

Dept: Plant Pathology and Microbiology

  mgleason@iastate.edu

Susana Goggi
Agronomy & Seed Science

Dept: Seed Science Center - Experiment Station

  susana@iastate.edu

Bob Hartzler
Weed Biology

Dept: Agronomy

  hartzler@iastate.edu

Emily Heaton
Crop Production & Physiology

Dept: Agronomy

  heaton@iastate.edu

Richard Hellmich
Crop and Pest Genetics

Dept: Entomology

  richard.hellmich@ars.usda.gov

Pol Herrmann
Management

Dept: Management

  pol@iastate.edu

Jeffrey Iles
Horticulture

Dept: Horticulture

  iles@iastate.edu

Allen Knapp
Seed & Crop Genetics

Dept: Agronomy

  adknapp@iastate.edu

Russell Laczniak
Marketing

Dept: Marketing

  laczniak@iastate.edu

Greg Lamka

Dept: Plant Pathology and Microbiology

BUSAD 509-Seed Trade, Policies, & Regulation gmlamka@gmail.com

Kendall Lamkey
Plant Breeding

Dept: Agronomy

  krlamkey@iastate.edu

Sergio Lence
Finance & Agri Marketing

Dept: Economics-AGLS

  shlence@iastate.edu

Bobby Martens
Supply Chain Mgmt

Dept: Supply Chain & Information Systems

  martens1@iastate.edu

Robert Martin
Agricultural Education

Dept: Agricultural Education & Studies

  drmartin@iastate.edu

Laura Merrick
Crop Genetics

Dept: Agronomy

STB 536-Quantitative Methods for Seed lmerrick@iastate.edu

Manjit Misra
Seed Conditioning

Dept: Seed Science Center - Experiment Station

STB 539-Seed Conditioning & Storage mkmisra@iastate.edu

Daren Mueller
Plant Pathology

Dept: Plant Pathology and Microbiology

  dsmuelle@iastate.edu

Ellen Mullen
Management

Dept: Management

BUSAD 507-Organizational Behavior emullen@iastate.edu

Russell Mullen
Crop Production

Dept: Agronomy

  remullen@iastate.edu

Gary Munkvold
Plant Pathology

Dept: Plant Pathology and Microbiology

STB 592-Seed Health Management munkvold@iastate.edu

Alison Robertson
Plant Pathology

Dept: Plant Pathology and Microbiology

  alisonr@iastate.edu

Jose Rosa
Marketing

Dept: Marketing

  jarosa@iastate.edu

Travis Sapp
Finance

Dept: Finance

BUSAD 508-Accounting & Finance trasapp@iastate.edu

Kevin Scheibe
Mgmt Information Systems

Dept: Supply Chain & Information Systems

  kscheibe@iastate.edu

Gaylan Scofield
Agricultural Education

Dept: Brenton Center for Ag Instr Tech Transf

  ggs@iastate.edu

Shanthu Shantharam
Seed Science

Dept: Plant Pathology and Microbiology

STB 535-Introduction to the Seed Industry
STB 510-Crop Improvement
STB 596X- Innovation Management in the Seed Biotechnology Industry
shanthus@iastate.edu

Brad Shrader
Management

Dept: Management

BUSAD 501-Strategy & Planning cshrader@iastate.edu

Anthony Townsend
Information Systems

Dept: Supply Chain & Information Systems

BUSAD 503-Information Systems amt@iastate.edu

Greg Tylka
Plant Pathology

Dept: Plant Pathology and Microbiology

  gltylka@iastate.edu

Kan Wang
Plant Biology/Agronomy

Dept: Agronomy

  kanwang@iastate.edu

Mark Westgate
Crop Physiology

Dept: Agronomy

  westgate@iastate.edu

Jeff Wolt
Risk Assessment/Agronomy

Dept: Biosafety Inst Genetically Modfd At Prod

  jdwolt@iastate.edu

Guest Lecturers

Instructor Course Email 

Mike Stahr  

Dept: Seed Science Center                              

STB 534-Seed & Variety, Testing & Technology
STB 547-Seed Production
mgstahr@iastate.edu

Alan Gaul

Dept: Seed Science Center

STB 539-Seed Conditioning & Storage agaul@iastate.edu